Use the Graphical Installation for your Exchange Server 2010 Deployment


I’m finally ready to install my first Microsoft Exchange 2010 Server and the easy way to remember how to do this is to do it based off the Server Roles.

For example, the core roles are the CAS, Hub Transport and Mailbox roles. These are the minimum roles you need for a working mail system. Remember it in alphabetical order.

CASHubMailbox

When you do your deployment, you first need to do the CAS role, then the Hub Transport, then the Mailbox server role.

If I were doing just a single server deployment, I could put all three roles on the same box and install them all at the same time. But I’m doing a phased deployment and I’ve got my roles spread out on multiple servers.

I’ll have a group of servers run the CAS and Hub roles first.

Then, my Mailbox server roles will run on independent servers.

To get started, I’ve already downloaded and extracted my Exchange 2010 SP1 media, on the C drive under the E2010 SP1 folder.

I’ve got my prerequisites installed and I’m ready to run setup.exe. This is the Graphical Installation Wizard. If you have UAC enabled, you might want to right-click and run as administrator.

This will bring up your Exchange 2010 installation landing page.

Choose an option here for language. I’ll choose install languages only from the DVD. Then I’ll be able to install Exchange.

Once the introduction screen comes up, hit Next.

Then you’ll get the typical license agreement. Accept that. Hit Next.

Error Reporting can be On or Off.

This will send your errors out to Microsoft for review. I’ll leave this on No for now and hit Next.

Next, indicate the installation type or which roles you want to install.

The typical installation installs the core roles – Client Access, Mailbox and Hub transport roles – all on this one machine.

I don’t want to do a typical install. I want to break up the distribution of roles in my environment. I want to do a custom installation. I’ll go to the next screen and pick and choose the roles that will be installed.

The option at the bottom lets me automatically install Windows Server roles and features. There are IIS perquisites and different items that a CAS Server or a Hub Server might need that are different than the Mailbox Server. I’ll check this box, and Exchange Server will figure that out for me.

Hit Next.

The server that I’m on is my CAS/Hub server. I’ll select the Client Access role and the Hub Transport role. Notice it tells you the disk space required and the space that’s available. I’ll hit Next.

On this screen, indicate the namespace to use for external Client Access.

We’ll get into enabling CAS for Internet access in another video. Right now, I’ll leave this empty and hit Next.

Since I’m installing my first Hub transport server into an Exchange Server 2003 organization, I need to choose an Exchange 2003 Bridge Head Server.

I’ll hit Browse and select my 2003 Server. This will allow mail flow to go between Exchange 2003 and my 2010 servers, and back and forth.

For now I’m not joining the customer experience improvement program. I’ll hit Next.

Now we’ll go through some Readiness Checks. It’s going to see if I’ve got my operating system prerequisites taken care of. It’s also going to make sure that everything in Active Directory is good to go. Once that all clears out, I’ll be ready to proceed with the installation.

Now my Readiness Checks are completed. Everything looks good.

I’ll click install. Depending on the speed of this server, this could take 20-30 minutes.

Eventually, it should come back and let you know whether it was successful. Typically, the error messages will be very descriptive. If something went wrong, you’ll figure it out pretty easily.

The installation is complete now. At the top, the elapsed time was almost 12 minutes. We got green ticks on everything. Looks good, and everything installed just fine.

Before I hit Finish, I could select “Finalize this installation using the Exchange Management Console.” This would launch the graphical tools that would let let me go in and manage my Exchange environment. Because I don’t have a Mailbox role yet, I’ll uncheck that and hit Finish.

An alert comes up recommending I do a reboot before placing this server into production. I’ll need to make sure that I’ve got the latest updates for Exchange and patches in place and all that good stuff.

The next step in our deployment will be to deploy our Mailbox server role.

Leave a Reply

