Linux Run levels

Runlevels define what tasks can be accomplished in the current state (or runlevel) of a Linux system. Every Linux system supports three basic runlevels, plus one or more runlevels for normal operation. The basic runlevels are shown in Table 1.

Table 1. Linux basic runlevels
Level Purpose
0 Shut down (or halt) the system
1 Single-user mode; usually aliased as s or S
6 Reboot the system
Beyond the basics, runlevel usage differs among distributions. One common usage set is shown in Table 2.
Table 2. Other common Linux runlevels
Level Purpose
2 Multiuser mode without networking
3 Multiuser mode with networking
5 Multiuser mode with networking and the X Window System

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: